Illinois legislation is frequently viewed as to be amid the most stringent when it comes to getting and handling firearms, and prosecutors are regarded to go after prices towards individuals who have illegally utilized or possessed weapons. Condition guidelines concerning firearms are quite a few, and it can be confusing if you are billed with just one or several weapons offenses.
In order to correctly defend your self, you have to have an seasoned Chicago weapons law firm if you are caught carrying an illegal firearm in Illinois. Because of to the strict punishments that frequently adhere to firearm expenses, you should really get in touch with your defense law firm as soon as attainable after an arrest.
Make contact with us at O’Meara Law if you or a cherished one particular will need authorized assistance right after being billed with a firearm possession crime. Call us at 312-909-0706.
Illinois Firearm Possession Laws
Illinois inhabitants should have a point out issued Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) Card in buy to individual and have a firearm in Illinois, and you have to be carrying your card even though handing a firearm outdoors of your household. The FOID card necessity does not implement to non-point out people who are in Illinois so long as they qualify for firearm possession in their house states. In order to qualify for a FOID card, you will have to satisfy the subsequent demands:
- You cannot be a convicted felon
- You simply cannot have been adjudicated as a psychological faulty
- You can not be an alien unlawfully present in the United States
- You can’t have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces
- You are unable to have been convicted of domestic battery, possibly felony or misdemeanor
- You are unable to be addicted to any drugs or narcotics in violation of point out or federal regulation
Illinois grew to become the previous state to allow concealed carry of handguns in 2013. Condition guidelines on concealed carry are some of the most stringent in the nation, and you have to complete at least sixteen several hours of firearm instruction in get to be approved. Automated weapons, open up have of firearms, and firearm silencers remain unlawful in Illinois.
Punishment for Unlawful Firearm Possession in Illinois
Remaining caught in unlawful possession of a firearm in Illinois can consequence in a variety of distinctive rates currently being filed towards you. You can experience a felony if you are in possession of unlawful forms of firearms this kind of as machine guns or guns with silencers, and you can confront a number of supplemental felonies if you are in possession of a firearm whilst in the commission of a criminal offense. A felon in possession of a banned firearm these as a device gun can be charged with a course X felony which can put you in prison for up to fifty several years.
If you are arrested for possessing a firearm without having a FOID card, but you would qualify for a FOID card, you will be struggling with a course A misdemeanor. This charge can consequence in up to a person yr in jail and a fantastic of $2,500. On the other hand, if you would fall short to qualify for a FOID card you can be billed with a class 3 felony which can be punishable by 5 a long time in prison and a wonderful of $25,000. Violating Illinois concealed have regulation can outcome in a misdemeanor for a 1st offense and a class 3 felony for a subsequent offense. The state’s hid have legislation can be violated if you choose a handgun into a restricted region, even if you are in possession of a hid have allow. Areas that are restricted for handguns consist of:
- Educational facilities
- Community transportation amenities and automobiles
- Authorities structures
- Bars and selected eating places
- General public parks, museums, and libraries
When it is legal to have a firearm in your motor vehicle, there are stringent guidelines about how weapons are allowed to be transported. If you are in violation of any legal guidelines about a firearm in your possession although in your car or truck, you can be charged with a class 4 felony that is punishable by up to three years in prison and a good of up to $25,000. In get to legally have a firearm in your auto, you will have to have a FOID card and transport it unloaded and in a circumstance that completely encloses the firearm.
O’Meara Regulation LLC Can Help You
Illinois firearm legal guidelines are elaborate and can be very strict. You can be facing significant jail time and big fines if you have been billed with a gun violation. For this cause, it is crucial to request a skilled and skilled felony protection attorney if you have been arrested for unlawful firearm possession.
Get in touch with us at O’Meara Law LLC in purchase to communicate with a Chicago weapons law firm about your scenario. Get in touch with us currently at 312-909-0706.
The post What If I’m Caught Carrying an Unlawful Firearm in Illinois? appeared to start with on O’Meara Regulation LLC.